Music

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pilgrim Warrior

Inactive User
Forgive me if this is in the wrong thread...it was this or the 'general' thread so I opted for this one. A 'life' question if I may. This is not a small issue for me.
Before I was converted and saved I was a drummer/musician. Without going into it all I was doing everything wrong! A total madman...anyway, I dropped everything and walked away from the whole scene when I was saved. That was 7 years ago. Presently I am teaching a couple students drum lessons and have been enjoying a kind of 'second childhood' with the drums. re-learning some stuff that I should have learned before. I am becoming visible once again in Musician circles and have recently been offered and have accepted a gig. It is a 2 night gig at a local club. The music is old classic R-n-R stuff. None of the songs are blatantly anti Christ, but I know that is not the only criteria that should be considered. I am not looking for a 'band' to get in that plays all the time at all! A fill in gig like this would be fine as I have my family and more important things to attend to. Last night I practiced with the group for the first time and had opportunity to share what I believe and some of my background and one of the guys opened up about his "backslidden' position and his perception of the Christian faith.
OK, enough details...here's the story. Am I missing something? Is this just not right for a Christian to play this music? in this type of venue? I am aware of our freedom in Christ and in my view many westerners are caught up in bondage. I am submitting this to this board because I value insight form Christian brothers, as I should. So there it is, Scripurally speaking what is your take on this. One more time, I am dead earnest about this. Lord bless you.
PW

In general, I believe it is permissible for a Christian to play rock. Obviously the lyrics or the venue is something to consider, but it sounds like you already did that.