Melchizedek; a preincarnate Christ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well said Patrick. I think you're right on the money.

Another observation.

Heb 6:20 where Jesus entered as forerunner for us, having become a High Priest forever, according to the order of Melchizedek.

I didn't check the Greek, but if this is translated correctly then Jesus "BECAME" a High Priest forever, saying that it was after Melchizedek that he became a High Priest. Bears more study.

I am still studying this.

Wasnt there only one High Priest at "a time"? In the Levitical prieshood there was to be only one High Priest until replaced. So I am wondering if Christ is High Priest of OT and a high priest of the order of Mel, than it would seem that Christ was either Mel, or not high priest of the Old Covenant...since it was not a shared office.

Doesn't Salem mean "peace"? there are few verses that speak of this city (unless it is the real Jerusalem)...could it not be figurative? It is never mentioned in great detail.

"In Salem also is his tabernacle, and his dwelling place in Zion." (psalm 76)

"To whom also Abraham gave a tenth part of all; first being by interpretation King of righteousness, and after that also King of Salem, which is, King of peace" (heb 7:2)

Feed back please.

[Edited on 5-15-2005 by matthew11v25]

This is what A.W. Pink writes on Mel...Hendriksen seems to have similiar thoughts.