Master's Seminary, Southern Baptist Theological, or Trinity Evangelical Divinity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArmyChaplain

Puritan Board Freshman
I am currently an undergraduate student and plan to attend seminary in Spring 2013 to pursue a M.Div for ministry in Army Chaplaincy. I have applied to The Master's Seminary and Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. I have so far been accepted into TMS and am awaiting word from SBTS. I have seen mention of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School a few times and will look into them also. What are the pros and cons of each of these 3 seminaries AND their M.Div. programs? I am looking for sound doctrine, a well-rounded institution, top-notch education, and many opportunities/areas of ministry and social/recreational activities.

Jaeden,

Welcome to the PuritanBoard!

One thing to keep in mind is that, fairly or not, people are going to tend to categorize you based on your degree, perhaps especially early in your "career." If you go to a dispensational school, it will be assumed if you are dispensational until proven otherwise. The same goes for having a degree from a Reformed/Presbyterian school, a Calvinistic Baptist school, a more Arminian Baptist school or whatever.

If you intend to remain Southern Baptist, SBTS would be the clear choice. A lot of churches are going to prefer a prospective pastor have a degree from one of their schools. (And which one it is can make a difference too in some cases.) While it's not confessionally "Reformed Baptist," it's closer to it than TMS or TEDS. It is also one of the top evangelical seminaries in the world. I think most if not all of the faculty there will be generally Calvinistic, but not all of them (and that includes some prominent ones) are 5 point Calvinists.