Man in Romans 2:1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodle Bug

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi,
I have decided to finish my el ed degree and am taking a Romans class as part of the requirements. So I have a study on Romans 2:1 and who is man in the passage. I think I understand the passage, but the problem is that I have three commentaries I have to summerize thier position. In theory Calvin and either John Phillips or Allva McClain should be different, but all I can see is that all three identify man as a general (instead of Jewish) hypocrite.
Can anyone give me some feedback. I feel like I'm missing something.
Thanks
Becky

I'm only a layman, but it seems general to me too. Romans 2:1, with its "Therefore" seems to be the conclusion of Romans 1:18-32, which has a general application. Paul more pointedly addresses Jews in Rom. 2:17-29.

Becky,

Keep reading (get rid of the verse/chapter divisions. Temporarily back-burner the analysis stuff.)

Remember, it's a letter - intended to be read aloud; beginning to end; without stopping.

If you do that, you'll notice a very different "spin" on Paul's emphasis. It'll take about 30 minutes to get through the whole letter. Do this a lot, too. Things will get clearer.

Paul would :banghead: to see us chopping up his letter, dissecting it thus.

Oy!

Robin :chained:

Meanwhile....may I heartily commend you for tackling Romans!! :banana:

Matthew Henry's comments may be helpful: