Malachi 2:16

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josh Williamson

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm currently studying Malachi 2:10-16 for a sermon, and I've come across a bit of a debate over verse 16.

The ESV renders it: “For the man who does not love his wife but divorces her, says the LORD, the God of Israel, covers his garment with violence, says the LORD of hosts. So guard yourselves in your spirit, and do not be faithless.” (Malachi 2:16 ESV)

Whereas the AV (and most other translations) render it along the lines of: "For the LORD, the God of Israel, saith that he hateth putting away: for one covereth violence with his garment, saith the LORD of hosts: therefore take heed to your spirit, that ye deal not treacherously." (Malachi 2:16 AV)

Most other translations and paraphrases bring out the fact that God hates divorce, yet the ESV doesn't. Some of the commentaries I read on it state it could go both ways, and that the Hebrew in this passage is one of the hardest in the OT.

What's your thoughts, what is the best rendering of this passage?

The Hebrew in the first portion of the verse is quite elliptical, with "hating", "divorcing", "and covers", "violence", "upon protection of him" that somehow need to be meaningfully combined. The masculine participle combined with a following infinitive construct may suggest "He {the man} who hates and divorces". "Clothing" could be referred to by the "His protection", yet the previous verses contextually suggest the referent here is more likely to be the wife, the one he was supposed to protect rather than engage in polygamous practices at the wife's expense.

Green's interlinear rendered the passage:

Mal 3:16 Jehovah, the God of Israel, says, He hates sending away, and to cover with violence on his garment, says Jehovah of Hosts. Even guard your spirit and do not act deceitfully.

The NET bible notes on the passage read: