Logos, Bibleworks, or accordance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reformed Thug Life

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a student studying biblical studies to become a pastor. I was wondering what the better option would be. Can someone give me a comparison of the three? Is logos really worth the steeper price? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

I have used a variety of software for bible study and research, and I am aware of the higher price of Logos. But honestly, Logos is in my opinion the most useful software, and arguably the best. I'd try to purchase the books in community pricing (via bidding), and if I missed that, during pre-publication. But I agree that the full price of Logos books is prohibitive sometimes, especially when compared to the printed equivalent. Take the NICOT/NICNT commentary set for example. You can get the full printed set at a much lower price from CBD.

I would say go for Logos if you can afford it.

You might want to start with e-Sword as it is FREE, fast, and VERY nimble. My collection includes the NICNT, ACCS, Baker (Hendricksen), AMG's Word Study reousrces, as well as the wonderful free copies of Mounce, Moulton and Milligan, Preacher's Complete Homiletical Commentary, Constable, Utley, K&D, TDNTa, TWOT. You can build a several thousand volume library with most of them FREE. Working on the assumption that a working pastor does not have time for working regularly with thousands of volumes, e-Sword is a very good tool, compared to some of the expensive high end packages. You cannot expect to do the kinds of sophisticated grammatical searches as you would with Bibleworks. But, for what it purports to be, e-Sword is hard to beat.

For quick use of many modern resources that are still in copyright, it is difficult to surpass WordSearch. Again, like e-Sword, the tabs are easy to use, and the program is nimble and responsive (nearly 1,500 volumes in my library).