"Just a little white lie?"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Puritan Board Freshman
Good Morning all. I'm so greatful for the new day. No work, relax and enjoy tonights Bible study.

But yesterday? Was very difficult. I am an office manager for a small (40 employees) company that builds circuit boards. I do it all, from answering the operator calls to payroll to closing the financial month and year.

My bosses and the sales team have decided that there are times they don't want to deal with customers. Mostly because they are still working on the projects they believe the customers are inquiring about. But what they've learned is if they don't pick up their extention the customer will hit zero, and get me. When I go to page so and so I am told to tell the customer they are in a meeting, etc. I've told them I couldn't lie. Well, yesterday a customer called and I paged for "Peter". Kal answered the page informing me that Peter was out of the office for about a half hour. So, after telling the customer and forwarding him to Peters phone to leave a message, Peter answered! Caught! doesn't look good! What's worse, I'm the one they think lied! When I confronted Kal he told me... "haven't you ever told a little white lie? And quite frankly, I don't give a ......"

When we are faced with situations like this what are we, as Christians, to do? I realize we are to be submissive to our employers, but if it goes against God's Word... after all, we all know God hates liers!

And, when we are in the midst of such trials, how do we find peace? I was SO angry yesterday it hurt! (Be angry and sin not.)

Thank you for any advice you can share as we sojourn in this world, yet not of it!

[Edited on 4-3-2004 by Loriann]

Lori,
I would just tell the customers that the person they are trying to reach are at present, indesposed; can I take a message please?

Scott, sometimes the person is standing right there and could easily take the call. Wouldn't that be lieing as well?