Is Celebrating Easter Pagan?

Status
Not open for further replies.
;) Is it already that time?

Last Lord's Day when I got home from church (remember I am a pastor) I looked at my wife and said, "Was today Easter?"

Oy vei....

---------- Post added at 06:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:12 AM ----------

While I understand the point, I think we need to differentiate between celebrating Christ's resurrection and incidentally calling it "Easter" vs. somebody who believes Easter is nothing more than bunnies that lay eggs and put us into sugar-induced comas with excessive chocolate.

When a fellow believer says "Happy Easter," I'm generally kind enough, judicious enough, and reasonable enough to understand that they're not exalting a bunny over Jesus Christ. Making a mountain out of a molehill doesn't generally contribute to Christian love and unity :D

The early church celebrated a Sunday close to passover as a day of particular celebration and remembrance of Jesus' resurrection. I don't have a problem with that. Now the goddess and her bunnies and eggs, that's a different matter completely and certainly isn't tolerated in our house.

Last Lord's Day when I got home from church (remember I am a pastor) I looked at my wife and said, "Was today Easter?"
Well if your church gave out reeds on Palm Sunday and coordinated a large pageant for Easter you wouldn't have forgotten. ;) That is how I always remembered when I was a wee lad. BTW this was not in a reformed church.

I get the whole not celebrating holidays view. What I don't get is making it binding on all christians. That is to say that it is wrong to celebrate easter. My daughter will be getting an easter egg basket with candy. My church puts on the largest easter egg hunt in town, again nothing wrong with that In my humble opinion.

I understand that our confession forbids requiring people to celebrate holidays but doesn't that imply that they can't celebrate them on their own?

Last edited: