Introductory musing

Status
Not open for further replies.

August

Puritan Board Freshman
Good day,

God guides one on paths you never think you will travel. I was perfectly happy as a Christian that regularly read his Bible, went to church, and prayed, within a pretty protected Christian community in my birth country, South Africa, and a pretty decent reformed church movement.

Next thing I knew, I found myself living in a godless culture in Scandinavia, and the little comfort bubble was popped. The amount of pure animosity towards religion, but especially Christianity, is explained away by their "advanced" culture, having no need for God.

However, as can be expected, two years in "advanced" culture had God show to me the true meaning of having to defend our faith, and so I started studying evidential apologetics, reading, debating and arguing with whomever wanted to. How pleasant it was to achieve my life dream and move to the USA 3 years ago, and find a Christian community, in my mind the last true bastion of Christianity in the world.

While I now know that Vincent Cheung has some gaping holes in his logic (thanks Paul Manata!), he was the first one that woke me up to presuppositional apologetics, and steered me away from purely evidential approaches. Those evolutionist atheists don't want to listen to contrary evidence or attempt to explain difficulties anyway.

One minor frustrating issue for me is that as soon as I think I have things covered, up pops another argument or explanation that makes me realize how much there still is to learn about our wonderful Father.

So here I am, an amateur apologist, aspiring minister, father, husband and generally curious. Please be gentle.

Peter

Puritan Board Junior
Welcome,
Ha! Funny as an American I always thought South Africa was the last bastion of Christianity! or at least until the black communists (ANC) took over.

August

Puritan Board Freshman
Thank you for the kind words of welcome. It is much appreciated.