Instructions for public worship

Status
Not open for further replies.

ValleyofVision

Puritan Board Freshman
1 Corinthians 11:5 " But a woman dishonors her head if she prays or prophesies without a covering on her head, for this is the same as shaving her head."

This got my wife and I thinking. With the law of Christ we are to obey all areas not just ones that seem relevant or convenient to our life.

So, if my wife is not wearing a head covering during service, does this mean she is sinning against the Lord?

Also, in verse 10 "For this reason, and because the Angels are watching, a woman should wear a covering on her head to show she is under authority." Under authority of Christ or her husband? What if she is single? Would the head covering still be required?

Does your wife wear a covering to service?

The message seems clear, and seemed clearer the more my wife and I studied it. We came to the conviction while in a church where no women headcovered, and she ended up being the first. We are now in a church where this is the practice (not "required", but taught by the elders and embraced by the majority of the congregation).

The most helpful resource we found was this threepart series by Pastor Todd Ruddell, who posts here on the PB. It made clear the meaning of the text, showed how it related to the Scripture as a whole, and was good with the practical implications and applications:

http://www.sermonaudio.com/search.a...t=series&subsetitem=Head+Coverings+in+Worship

1 Corinthians 11:5 " But a woman dishonors her head if she prays or prophesies without a covering on her head, for this is the same as shaving her head."

This got my wife and I thinking. With the law of Christ we are to obey all areas not just ones that seem relevant or convenient to our life.

So, if my wife is not wearing a head covering during service, does this mean she is sinning against the Lord?