I'm New to Presbyterianism

Status
Not open for further replies.

kstachewicz

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello Puritan Board Folks,
I'm a former 1689 Baptist who has recently converted to Presbyterianism. In light of this, I am trying to "catch up" on some things. Specifically, can somebody help me understand the differences between the OPC and the PCA? Also, I am searching for a seminary to attend and need insight as to why so many people seem to have a negative opinion on Covenant Theological Seminary.

Thanks!

Hello Puritan Board Folks,
I'm a former 1689 Baptist who has recently converted to Presbyterianism. In light of this, I am trying to "catch up" on some things. Specifically, can somebody help me understand the differences between the OPC and the PCA? Also, I am searching for a seminary to attend and need insight as to why so many people seem to have a negative opinion on Covenant Theological Seminary.

Thanks!
For starters, the denominational seminary admitted a women into their MDiv program. Mdvis are for pastoral ministry and pastoral ministry is reserved for men in the denomination.

Some of Westminster Seminary (Philadelphia) classes are online under resources on the Gospel Coalition website. Listening to some might help you particularly if that is one of your choices. I believe there are both OPC and PCA faculty there. Actually visiting and talking to faculty at your top choices is a good idea, if possible.

Welcome to the PB, Kyle.

There is a whole bag of assorted P's out there (PCA, OPC, ARP, FPCNA, RPCNA, RPCUS, ETC., ETC.). Not a one of which is the perfect example of The Church on Earth. My advise to you is to find the most godly and biblical Presbyterian church in your area. Get to know and love the men of it's Session, then follow their wise counsel. They can confirm your calling and advise on the best avenue to perusing its fulfillment.

Blessings,