Husband, father, and Moody student on the journey to becoming a Presbyterian

Status
Not open for further replies.

J.L. Allen

Puritan Board Freshman
Howdy,

I'm a current Moody student on the older end of the student body. My desire is to go to seminary to eventually be able to minister the Word and sacraments. I'm in a strange place as I find my convictions becoming more and more reformed. The story has more to be told, and I'm excited to share it and be a part of this community.

J.L. Allen

Puritan Board Freshman
@Reepicheep may share his story with you. He was a Moody student and is now a PCA pastor (and a good friend!).
That would be fantastic! I have to say, it has been disorienting at times. There is a lot to navigate. Being at Moody, you can sometimes receive "hostility" for holding to covenant theology.

Grafted In

Puritan Board Freshman
Howdy,

I'm a current Moody student on the older end of the student body. My desire is to go to seminary to eventually be able to minister the Word and sacraments. I'm in a strange place as I find my convictions becoming more and more reformed. The story has more to be told, and I'm excited to share it and be a part of this community.
I, too, am a Moody grad and a Presbyterian!

Welcome to the fellowship!

Stephen L Smith

Staff member
Being at Moody, you can sometimes receive "hostility" for holding to covenant theology.
Did you say some get 'Moody' if you hold to covenant theology. :)

Welcome to the board. My parents pastor trained at Moody (Arminian, Dispensational Church). I understand Moody is also into Spiritual Formation?

J.L. Allen

Puritan Board Freshman
I understand Moody is also into Spiritual Formation?
That is a term that has been tossed around a lot and even marks the curriculum of many classes, but I'll be honest, I'm not sure what it means exactly. Can you define the term as you understand it?