Historicity of Postmillennialism ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

amishrockstar

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm studying Postmillennialism right now and I've noticed that when the question of 'history' comes up, the Postmil points to the Puritans and Princeton; are there any prominent Postmils before that era? Why do they always stop there?
When I read Amillennialist literature, they point to all sorts of early church fathers (especially Augustine) who held to their position; even Premils reference some of the 'fathers' who were clearly Premil (Justin Martyr).

Any thoughts?

(Please note, I'm NOT committing the fallacy of saying that if it's older it's better!!! I'm simply wondering why Postmils stop at the Puritans; don't they have any earlier references?)

THANKS

I'm studying Postmillennialism right now and I've noticed that when the question of 'history' comes up, the Postmil points to the Puritans and Princeton; are there any prominent Postmils before that era? Why do they always stop there?
When I read Amillennialist literature, they point to all sorts of early church fathers (especially Augustine) who held to their position; even Premils reference some of the 'fathers' who were clearly Premil (Justin Martyr).

Any thoughts?

(Please note, I'm NOT committing the fallacy of saying that if it's older it's better!!! I'm simply wondering why Postmils stop at the Puritans; don't they have any earlier references?)

THANKS

The Puritans used language regarding world conversion that seemed very postmillennial, and since most Reformed people demur to whatever the Puritans say, it isn't a bad (psychologically) argument.

Why don't they go earlier? Part of the reason is that the pre-Reformation church held to the Augustinian spiritual vision, which isn't postmillennial. Augustine, in fact, thought any model that didn't read OT promises in "spiritual" light was beyond credulity (which tells us more about his imagination than anything else).