Gathering news on the Sabbath

Status
Not open for further replies.
I can't speak for secular media (Fox News, New York Times, etc.) because I don't know on them.

However, I cannot imagine those gathering for groups such as ICC and VoM to not be doing a work of necessity.

When I worked in the local television news business, it always seemed to me that the community could have gotten along just fine without the regularly scheduled Sunday newscasts. However, the structure of things was that the community also depended on television news for emergency information in the case of natural disasters, crime alerts and especially severe weather. So I acknowledged that a skeleton staff would have to be around to keep tabs on such things, call in help if needed and produce emergency news reports.

This makes things interesting. For a theoretical newsroom with sabbatarian convictions (I never encountered one), I would think the presence of the skeleton staff would make it tempting to use the time to get non-emergency work done also if it might be helpful later in the week. At some point, getting videotape of some non-emergency but important Sunday event, for use on later newscasts, would start to seem like a "necessity." Is it?

It gets tricky in a non-Sabbath society, where others schedule newsworthy events on Sundays. The biblical Sabbath laws required community-wide compliance. Applying this in a community that doesn't observe the Sabbath creates messy questions.

Consistent sabbatarians shouldn't read Monday newspapers, as they are prepared on Sundays.

Hadn't thought about that. Back when we took a paper, we'd often get Sunday's paper on Saturday night. We didn't get Sunday delivery, but I never thought about Monday's set-up/lay out being on Sunday.

Tornado, flood and hurricane alerts might come in handy on the same day. Also, missing child reports and or news of rapists loose in a community.

Much news helps public safety.