FV really Arminian & works salvation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamaArcher

Puritan Board Freshman
We are looking at changing denominations and have really been drawn to the CREC. However we are finding out a bit more about this Federal Vision thing and it is really a heart wrenching thing for me to deal with because I think it will pull us away from the CREC prospect. We may lean more to the PCA now, I dunno, long story, anyway.

If FV is teaching baptismal regeneration and the ability to leave the faith. Being saved then apostating verses being with in the covenant protection/umbrella and rejecting but not actually being of the elect. (sorry if my words are not the best terms to use I am new to this). How is this not armenian rather than Calvinistic and not according to the solas? Baptismal regeneration would replace grace by faith, faith alone and grace alone. Being saved and apostating (actually being saved and then leaving) would that not negate the perseverance of the saints? So does FV actually teach a works type of salvation?

We are looking at changing denominations and have really been drawn to the CREC. However we are finding out a bit more about this Federal Vision thing and it is really a heart wrenching thing for me to deal with because I think it will pull us away from the CREC prospect. We may lean more to the PCA now, I dunno, long story, anyway.