Foreknowledge vs Predestination Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

monoergon

Puritan Board Freshman
Grace and Peace,
I am fairly new to Reformed Theology and have been writing for the past month or so a refutation to arminian arguments.
Can anyone help to write a logical and rational refutation to the foreknowledge argument?:

(1) In Romans 8:29-30, and everywhere else, God's election and predestination is based on His Foreknowledge.

(2) By the way, which one comes first? Foreknowledge, election, predestination etc.?

(3) Concerning Judas:
On John 6:37,39,44 Jesus says only those that come to Him are those that the Father gives Him. Then Jesus says in John 10:27-29 that His sheep hears His voice and follows Him and that no one will take His sheep from His hands.

The difficulty I'm having concerns Judas and the following verses:
Can Jesus lose any person God gives Him according to John 18:9 and 17:12? How about losing Judas? Wasn't he one of the elect?

In Christ,
Nathan

Foreknowledge does not mean that God looked through the corridors of time, learn all the possible outcomes, and then proceed to predestine everything. On the contrary, foreknowledge is more akin to the intimate act of God choosing. Then, those whom God has chosen are predestined, and so on.

In terms of what comes first, it depends what you mean! Are you talking in the temporal sense, or the logical sense? Temporally, the question doesn't make sense (God's choosing and decree was before the foundation of the world). Logically, the Reformed Confessions and historic Reformed theology speak in terms of the ordo salutis (the order of salvation).

Here's a pithy quote from Calvin on Eph 1:4 :

We are all lost in Adam, and therefore, had not God rescued us from perishing, by His own election, there was nothing to be foreseen.