Exclusive Psalmody and Biblical Inerrancy

Status
Not open for further replies.
That syllogism was bad. I'm still new to syllogisms, too, which is why I don't like to use them and why I originally pointed out that your syllogisms didn't conform to proper form. Sometimes it's better to just not use them if you don't know how.

Anyway, I stand by the point. There is no command to write a new song, only to sing one. Therefore, if "new" means "brand new," then you must assume that "sing" actually means "write and sing," which puts you in the same predicament of definition for which you scold the EPer (i.e. with the word "new"). Or you could say that the song must be sung extemporaneously.

Last edited:
Although one thing I wanted to point out is that false premises do not require a false conclusion.

All fish are flying animals
All robins are fish
All robins are flying animals

well, I suppose, I should have said that if the premises are flawed, the conclusion is likely flawed as well. How about that? :)

Here is a syllogism that I would use to respond, given that "new" means "brand new."

All songs which are to be sung are songs which must be written
No new songs are commanded to be written
No new songs are to be sung

The only way you can get around this problem is by assuming that "sing" actually means "write and sing," which puts you in the same predicament of definition for which you scold the EPer (i.e. with the word "new"). Or you could say that the song must be sung extemporaneously.

ok - let me redefine your premises a bit and interact with your syllogism.

Please note that I define new in one sense as "uniquely created" which allows some new and "old" elements as opposed to exclusively brand new:

p1 All songs which are to be sung are songs which must be composed (I think this might be a bit more accurate nomenclature - unless by "written" you mean written as Scripture? if so, where is this commanded?)