EXceptions to the Confession

Status
Not open for further replies.
Great work, Benjamin.

Harsh words from the brother you linked to, but they mirror my own observations.

I am fairly new to Presbyterianism terminology but that was a good read nonetheless. Thank you for sharing :)

Mega Dittos on that!! hmm That gives me something to ponder, because I should know that which he said better than most. And have traced the history of such, and shown the dangers of straying.

I once got into a heated "discussion" in the break room at seminary when three or four others guys (all "reformed") were sitting around bragging about what exceptions they were going to take to the WCF. The one who was the most vocal against me (when I said I would not be taking any exceptions) has since virtually denied the inerrancy of Scripture.

I thought I was the only one who thought like this:

All of which leads to my third observation. We're basically pretty stupid today, compared to past centuries. Our schools have bred mostly morons, and even the wittiest of the morons is still a moron. (I include myself in the category of "moron" by the way.) Even our best and brightest would probably be simply average by 17th or 18th century standards of theological discourse. The problem is that we're morons who think we're brilliant. That is my one, single, Socratic advantage. I'm a moron who knows that I'm a moron. I'm currently laboring to do something about it.

Excellent read! Thanks for the link.

Benjamin,

Thank you! That blog was GREAT! Coming at it from the perspective of a refugee from a Baptist mainline gives me a slightly different set of vocab words. However, my sentiments come pretty close to his on matters of substance.

I think I was once invited to receive Clark Pinnock as my Lord and Savior in chapel

:rofl:

Classic line!