Does the PCA allow ruling elders to preach?

Status
Not open for further replies.

caoclan

Puritan Board Freshman
I am relatively new to the PCA. Does the PCA allow for a ruling elder to preach? I guess it must because it is going to happen i my church this week, but is this something that occurs with any regularity? I assumed to preach in worship, one must be ordained.

Yes.

Who may preach is under the oversight of the session. And having an RE preach is very common.

I believe the PCA refers to it as "exhortation," limiting "preaching" to ordained ministers of the Gospel (Teaching Elders).

I have been in my church for 1.5 years and have never seen it happen. What is strange to me is that we have 4 TEs, not sure why they aren't preaching, but they probably have their reasons.

Actually, it is a requirement (in many presbyteries) that REs be willing and able to preach if called upon. It is regular preaching that is restricted to teaching elders.

I believe the PCA refers to it as "exhortation," limiting "preaching" to ordained ministers of the Gospel (Teaching Elders).

This statement is untrue, and is a distinction only pushed with regularity in our circles by high church ministers who would like to promote their particular view of the offices.

The BCO makes no separation between teaching elders, ruling elders, or even licentiates when it comes to the authority of preaching. Furthermore, in every case the BCO rightly employs the term "exhort/exhortation" in accordance with its biblical use, namely, in describing a particular function of preaching, and not as an attempt to make a distinction in levels of authority regarding the message given.