Divorce and the Ministry

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave knott

Puritan Board Freshman
need some help. I have been saved for 40 years but have only been reformed for 5 years. I have an associates degree and am seeking a bachelor's degree. I am a divorced and remarried person. I divorced because of adultery. 5 years later I met someone who divorced for the same reason. presently I am reformed baptist, however, I am leaning presbyterian very strongly. my question is would my divorce disqualify me from becoming a preacher either in the reformed baptist or Presbyterian faith? thank you

In my humble opinion, if you are looking to enter the ministry, you should probably aim to settle your Baptist/Presbyterian convictions.

Moderating: Dave is a new member so does not have access to full member forums yet (kicks in after 26 posts). Not dinging any of the above advice, but let's "play like" this is in the elders' advice only forum.

my convictions for pres. are simply put and not to offend anyone but here they are: most authors from many topics simply seem more bible based (scriptural) are 99% Presbyterian. don't get me wrong Bunyan is good however I have not read much by him that convinces me of the "particular baptist" or anything by Spurgeon to convince me of their "particular" view. however, there are many authors who explain their view who are presbyterian view. and when it comes to covenant theology, well the baptist (to me at least) seem not to understand the old covenant 100% and if that is not understood 100% the new covenant will never be understood 100%. hope this makes sense