Discussion and Refutation of Dr. Jordan Cooper's Lutheranism

Status
Not open for further replies.

W.C. Dean

Puritan Board Sophomore
Greetings all. On certain topics, I have enjoyed the comments of Dr. Jordan Cooper but I recently decided to watch his video detailing five reasons he is not Reformed. I sometimes feel anxious about listening to the opposing views when I am not experienced in defending them, and I was surprised by the lack of virtually anything appealing or solid in his video. I'll list the five reasons he says he is not Reformed, and they're not just anti-Calvinist, he also discussed Presbyterian polity and views of the sacraments.

1. Reformed theology is overly logical
A. Certain Reformed beliefs are not explicitly found in Scripture, rather they just logical conclusions from other things found in the Bible or in natural logic and reasoning, examples being "the entire system of election", and "human nature of Christ".
B. When he says the entire system of election, he states that Calvinist thought uses human reasoning to deduce the entire doctrine, while not following the Bible on "universalistic texts" or statements about universal grace.
C. When he says the human nature of Christ, he states that while logic would tell us Christ in human nature could not be in the presence of the father and be in the presence of the Lord's Supper, Scripture teaches something different. It's a mystery to human logic but Calvinists supposedly deny the mysteriousness of it. Reformed theology is effectually denying that God can do whatever he wants with human nature.
D. Lutherans are okay with paradoxes or unexplained mysteries in the Bible. Calvinists deny mysteries and use human logic to explain away mysterious things.
2. Universal Grace