Critique of Rawlsian Justice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Robert Nozick, a colleague of John Rawls from Harvard wrote his seminal work, Anarchy, State and Utopia in order to properly respond to Rawls' theories.

Heritage published an interesting piece about Rawls as well.
http://www.heritage.org/political-process/report/the-hidden-influence-john-rawls-the-american-mind
Heritage's website seems to be down for me, try this one:
http://www.publicnow.com/view/B574A...88640A2B99D?2016-09-22-22:31:32+01:00-xxx9411

As for me, I am not a Rawls expert, but I did briefly study him during undergraduate and will likely engage in his works further when I begin a doctoral program to study political theory.

After reviewing the notes that I took while reading Rawls' Theory of Justice, I developed a list of considerations. These are actually good critiques of liberalism more generally.
  • He rejects the notion of self-evident truths transcending historical context. This, however, is consistent with his moral and political philosophy of atheism.
  • Rawls bases his idea of justice on a notion of epistemological neutrality which isn't actually neutral. He arbitrarily favors some values, such as equality and tolerance, over others.
  • He argues that you cannot know anything with respect to values, but if you attempt to look at everything "neutrally," you can't really comprehend moral questions. For example, if I am neutral in a Rawlsian manner on the question of abortion ("I'm personally against it, but others should be allowed to do it") you have to ignore transcendent standards of right and wrong just because someone else accepts something.
  • Rawls' "original position" minimizes the value of human differences. Religion, race, gender, social standing cease to be God-given and are arbitrary social constructs.