Covenant Theology and the WCF

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seb

Puritan Board Junior
Some of the responses I read in this thread made me wonder - If you subscribe to the Westminster Confession doesn’t that mean you also subscribe to Covenant Theology, at least in some basic form?

So far I’ve only studied the Three Forms of Unity in the way of confessions, (yes, I’m still a Reformed noob) but the way I see it - if you embrace the WCF, without exceptions, then you’re also embracing CT to some degree or another.

Am I understanding this right? :think:

Take me to school folks, but please be gentle. :candle:

THE WESTMINSTER CONFESSION OF FAITH (1646)

CHAPTER VII
Of God's Covenant with Man.​

I. The distance between God and the creature is so great, that although reasonable creatures do owe obedience unto him as their Creator, yet they could never have any fruition of him, as their blessedness and reward, but by some voluntary condescension on God's part, which he hath been pleased to express by way of covenant.

II. The first covenant made with man was a covenant of works, wherein life was promised to Adam, and in him to his posterity, upon condition of perfect and personal obedience.

III. Man by his fall having made himself incapable of life by that covenant, the Lord was pleased to make a second, commonly called the covenant of grace: wherein he freely offered unto sinners life and salvation by Jesus Christ, requiring of them faith in him, that they may be saved, and promising to give unto all those that are ordained unto life, his Holy Spirit, to make them willing and able to believe.

IV. This covenant of grace is frequently set forth in the Scripture by the name of a testament, in reference to the death of Jesus Christ, the testator, and to the everlasting inheritance, with all things belonging to it, therein bequeathed.