Chuck Roast Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quickened

Puritan Board Senior
Hi there!

We have a 2 1/2lb Chuck roast and i was thinking of popping it in the slow cooker. I havent had a chance to use it and i have been dying to. Thing is i've never done one of these before.

Looking through my recipes books i see a list of ingredients that i would be willing to use.

this leads me to 2 questions.

1 (most importantly) Do you have any suggestions or advice?

2) 1 recipe i saw contains instant coffee. How would that differ from the folgers i sometimes drink?

Thanks

We do chuck roast quite a bit for the Lord's Day. Here is what we do:

Saturday night:
1. Sear the roast in a VERY hot pan with a touch of olive oil. Blacken all the ends and sides to lock in some of the flavor.
2. Put in crock pot and add the following:
-3 or 4 cloves of garlic
-oregano covering the whole roast
-black pepper
-cover heavily with any 'italian herb' combo (parsley, oregano, rosemary, etc)
-add fresh mushrooms
-one packet of onion soup mix to cover the top

Then you put it in the fridge.

Sunday AM:

I get up and plug in the slow cooker at 5AM. I let this cook until about 1:30 on the Lord's Day. People love it and it is a great way to host a number of people without too much hassle. You can also add your potatoes to the crock if you have one large enough.

You will love it. I got the recipe from Linda Lanning (Grand Rapids, MI pastor's wife) and we call it Dutch Roast. The people of LA love it too now that it frequently appears at fellowship meals.

:) YUMMY!