Books on the Free Offer

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeeD

Puritan Board Freshman
What books would be good to read primarily (not necessarily wholly) deal with the free offer of the Gospel? One person has recommended Spurgeon V. Hyper-Calvinism. Any other recommendations?

If I were to recommend one book above all, in terms of how much blessing I received from reading it, that would have to be Studies In The Sermon On The Mount by the Reverend D. Martyn Lloyd Jones.

Earl, Mr. Winzer reviews the document available at the link Tim posted. Since Mr. Winzer's review dissents at a number of points, there is a substantive difference.

Earl, Mr. Winzer reviews the document available at the link Tim posted. Since Mr. Winzer's review dissents at a number of points, there is a substantive difference.

Yes I see that now, thank you.

I am a strong supporter of Professor Murray's arguments with respect to the free offer of the gospel and those of Professor Clark in advocacy of the same. I appreciate the work of David Lachman on the Marrow Controversy as well and want to read the work cited by Ben on the same. Ferguson's talks on this and an article by my former colleague Joe Hall (in the Mid-America Journal of Theology) are good.

I will endeavor to read Rev. Winzer's piece on this and offer some observations. Apparently, he thinks otherwise and I will be interested to assess his arguments. I may not get to this right away as I am just back in the saddle and quite swamped.

Peace,
Alan

I am a strong supporter of Professor Murray's arguments with respect to the free offer of the gospel and those of Professor Clark in advocacy of the same. I appreciate the work of David Lachman on the Marrow Controversy as well and want to read the work cited by Ben on the same. Ferguson's talks on this and an article by my former colleague Joe Hall (in the Mid-America Journal of Theology) are good.