Bible Translation Poll - 2020 Edition

Which is your primary Bible translation?

• ASV

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • CSB

Votes: 3 2.4%
  • EHV

Votes: 1 0.8%
  • ESV

Votes: 40 31.7%
  • Geneva

Votes: 1 0.8%
  • HCSB

• KJV

Votes: 41 32.5%
  • Lexham

• NASB

Votes: 12 9.5%
  • NET

• NIV

Votes: 6 4.8%
  • NKJV

Votes: 18 14.3%
  • RSV

• YLT

• Other (specify)

Votes: 4 3.2%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
U

Username3000

I am curious to know the state of English Bible translation usage on the PB in 2020.

Please vote for your primary translation, and comment on why it is your primary choice.

Thanks.

I'm in my 6th consecutive year of doing the M'Cheyne 1 Year Bible Reading Plan. Each year was a different primary translation (Formal Equivalent) and a secondary (Functional Equivalent). This year my primary is the NRSV, secondary is the NLT.

My primary translation in 2020 is the NKJV. I too am using it in my M'Cheyne Bible Reading Plan. This is my first year reading the NKJV and I'm puzzled at what took me so long to use it -- I really enjoy reading from it!

As for reasoning, I prefer the traditional received text and find the NKJV easier/smoother to read than my KJV, which has always been a perennial favorite. I also REALLY appreciate the footnotes in the NKJV showing where the text differs from the NU, which I find interesting.

In years past, in addition to the KJV, I've spent a lot of time in the NIV, ESV, and to a lesser extent the NLT. I'm a BibleGateway geek as well and use it daily to compare passages across four or five different translations at a time.

I generally alternate between the ESV, NKJV, and NIV. The others I tend only to use them either for consultation or when I want to quickly read through a book. While I like the NIV a lot as a Bible to read in private, I am of the opinion that it is not the best for reading in church.