Baptist church traced back to John the Baptist

Status
Not open for further replies.

shackleton

Puritan Board Junior
I am hearing from more than a few people that the Baptist church can trace its roots back to John the Baptist. They say the Baptists did not need the Reformation because they were not a part of the Catholic Church.

I am not an expert in church history, but I thought EVERYONE was a part of the Catholic Church prior to the Reformation. I have read dissertaions from both Calvin and Luther against the Anabaptist movement. I realize the Baptists do not directly come from them, it is more the Mennonites and others, but I thought the Baptists definetely came about AFTER the Reformation. I thought ALL denominaitons trace their origin to sometime after the Reformation.

There is a group called the Landmark Baptists who claim they are direct descendants from John the Baptist.

Anyone with more knowledge than I care to respond.

Does this list start off like this, John the Baptist, Linus, Anacletus, Clement I, Evaristus … :D

Seriously, Landmark Baptists believe that there have always been faithful immersionist baptists since the time of John, and this thread of baptists is independent of the (Roman) Catholic church.

"And I also say to you that you are John, and on this rock I will build My Baptist church, and the gates of Hades and the paedobaptists shall not prevail against it."

Or something like that.

Just roll your eyes at them (ok, maybe just to yourself), disregard and move on. I've never heard of anyone believing that who turned out to be a semi-reasonable person to discuss issues with.

Brother, This is (sadly) a fairly common view in our day. My father in law (a baptist pastor) is a strong proponent of this view. It is often callled "trail of blood" after a nineteenth century booklet by the same name.

The short answer is that it is false.