Appropriate Roles Laypersons, Specifically Women, Can Serve in the PCA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beezer

Puritan Board Freshman
Good evening,

I've been attending a PCA church in my area for a few months now and have noticed this particular church allows women to serve in various roles during the worship service that I haven't encountered before and to be honest it has started to bother me. I would be interested in the opinions of others as to whether non-ordained members, specifically women, can serve in these roles.

Roles in Question:

1. This church pairs an elder with a female member of the congregation to lead worship each Sunday. The elder will open up the time of worship and then usually hand things over to a female lay-person who at times leads everything from the public reading of the scriptures, responsive readings, the time of confession, the offertory prayer, congregational prayer, etc.

2. For the Lord's Supper, which this church celebrates weekly, there are a number of fixed locations in the sanctuary where non-ordained members pair with a deacon or elder to pass out the elements. Each family approaches the respective "station" near their seating area and both the ordained and non-ordained pass out the elements and offer a brief prayer. Usually it's an ordained member who passes out the bread and the non-ordained who distributes the wine.