Any programmers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Minh

Puritan Board Freshman
Greeting Pilgrims,

I am currently an engineering student who find my current subject uninteresting and out of taste. During my 1st semester as an engineering student, I was required to take a course in computer science (mainly in programing C language) which I badly failed at the end of the semester (I got 38% in total grade). However, as I was required to take the same course with a different instructor who is more diligent in instructing her pupils about the basic of C programing, I begin to have greater interest in computer science thanks to her. And as a matter of fact, not only I did well in school, but I also want to purchase any good book about the subject that I am interested in.

As I am considering changing from my current major to ComSci, I want to consult PB members who are experienced on this subjects. Some of the questions to consider are: what prompt you to seriously consider ComSci as a career? How do you retain a strong interest in ComSci without forgetting the spiritual duties before the Lord? If you are currently a minister who are formerly Computer Scientist, how useful is your ComSci career in advancing your ministerial education?

There are more important questions that I can't think of. Feel free to add those thoughts to this discussion.

In Christ

1. I learned CompSci from my father and followed in his footsteps
  2. A career in CompSci, perhaps more than other carriers, is what you make it / allow it to be. For example, my employer allows me to work a 32 hour/week schedule which gives me time to pour significant time into the ministries of the church (note, I am not a minister, just highly active). Others work entirely from home with a lot of flexibility. On the other hand, many people I know in the industry work 60+ hours/week. It comes down to choosing your employer wisely and setting expectations.