A Charismatic Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sola Gratia

Puritan Board Freshman
Since I am new to the biblical faith, I have been trying to get an understanding for basic doctrine and I have run across something confusing. I was reading Wayne Grudem (who to me seems solid most of the time, but I may be wrong) and he seemed to advocate that the more "miraculous" gifts were for today(i.e. tongues). It may be possible that I am misreading him, but I don't think so. It was my understanding that most reformed people are cessationist (I think that is the word) so the gifts aren't for today. Is this an area of open debate or is Grudem just wrong? The only Scripture I have seen put forth for (cessationism?) tends to be the when the perfect has come argument, which doesn't seem to be what that verse is really about. Are there others? Or is this something where the witness of the church has been that they have ceased so why would they return in the 20th century?

I hope that makes sense

Grace and Peace,
Hyatt

It may be possible that I am misreading him, but I don't think so. It was my understanding that most reformed people are cessationist (I think that is the word) so the gifts aren't for today.

Wayne Grudem is not 'Reformed'. He is a 'Third Waver' of the Vineyard Movement. He is Calvinistic in his view of salvation but charismatic in his view of the church.

The main argument would be that the Apostolic authority was attested to by these supernatural
signs and wonders, as was true of the authenticating of the promised Messiah.ie, Luke 7:22.
Also the cannon of scripture had not been assembled and closed, and therefore during this transitional
period the gifts of the Spirit were operative. But now we have a more sure word of prophecy. Nothing
needs to be added or taken away.