A (belated) iPhone Review w/apps

Status
Not open for further replies.

fredtgreco

Vanilla Westminsterian
Staff member
Christ Church PCA » Blog Archive » A (belated) iPhone Review

Ok, so I am finally getting around to giving some thoughts to the iPhone. I have been using it for about 4 months now, and I think I have worked out the good and bad aspects of the iPhone. I didn’t come to the iPhone from a dinosaur cell phone - I actually had a Blackberry Pearl - so I was not overawed by the core concept of a smart phone. I also am not a Steve Jobs fanboy (I can’t see myself ever overpaying for a “cool” and “chic” iMac, iLaptop or iWhatever) so I think about this phone as a phone, not as an extension of my Apple psyche.
Here is the good:
1. It is the best multipurpose handheld device I have seen. It does a whole bunch of things pretty well. And it keeps getting better as more and more applications (”apps”) are developed and available.
2. It has a great many applications to choose from, because Apple finally wised up and allowed developers to create apps and market them. (Apple is still way too “Big Brother” about its app store, however.) ....

Fred,

The phone service in the Baltimore-Washington-Northern Virginia area is excellent. There are some dead spots, but they were dead spots with my Blackberry Curve also. I wonder whether it is network related.

I used to sell cellular. ATT/Cingular has one of the worst networks in the country. The only two that were worse at the time were Sprint and Nextel. Now Sprint owns Nextel. For what it's worth I sold Nextel. Hate it. Have to use it every day.

I used to sell cellular. ATT/Cingular has one of the worst networks in the country. The only two that were worse at the time were Sprint and Nextel. Now Sprint owns Nextel. For what it's worth I sold Nextel. Hate it. Have to use it every day.

Lawrence,