See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Controversial Topics discuss KERUX Review of "THe Law is Not of Faith" Now Available Free Online in the Theology forums; Find the review here in PDF: KERUX Enjoy....

  1. #1
    Backwoods Presbyterian's Avatar
    Backwoods Presbyterian is offline now. Puritanboard Doctor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17,052
    Blog Entries
    2

    KERUX Review of "THe Law is Not of Faith" Now Available Free Online

    Find the review here in PDF: KERUX

    Enjoy.
    Rev. Benjamin P. Glaser, M. Div, ARP
    Pastor, Ellisville Presbyterian Church, ARP
    Ellisville, Mississippi

    ‎‎"Ministers of the Gospel, when dispensing the truths of God, must preach home to their own souls, as well as unto others. Sir's, we do not deliver truths or doctrines to you, wherein we ourselves have no manner of concern. No, our own souls are at the stake, and shall either perish or be saved eternally, as we receive or reject these precious truths which we deliver unto you. And truly, it can never be expected that we will apply the truths of God with any warmth or liveliness unto others, unless we first make a warm application thereof to our own souls. And if we do not feed upon these doctrines, and practise these duties, which we deliver to and inculcate upon you, though we preach unto others, we ourselves are but castaways." -- Ebenezer Erskine, "The Assurance of Faith", pg. 8

    Deo Vindice

  2. #2
    Jon Peters's Avatar
    Jon Peters is offline. Puritanboard Sophomore
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    716
    Thanks for posting this. I'd like to read it. I am currently reading The Law is Not of Faith and would encourage people to first read the book before reading the review.

    Amazon.com: The Law Is Not of Faith: Essays on Works and Grace in the Mosaic Covenant (9781596381001): Bryan D. Estelle, J. V. Fesko, David VanDrunen: Books
    Jon Peters
    Member, Reformation Fellowship (OPC) (Roseville, CA)
    Folsom, CA

  3. #3
    Backwoods Presbyterian's Avatar
    Backwoods Presbyterian is offline now. Puritanboard Doctor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17,052
    Blog Entries
    2
    Read it. Download it. Pass it on to friends.
    Rev. Benjamin P. Glaser, M. Div, ARP
    Pastor, Ellisville Presbyterian Church, ARP
    Ellisville, Mississippi

    ‎‎"Ministers of the Gospel, when dispensing the truths of God, must preach home to their own souls, as well as unto others. Sir's, we do not deliver truths or doctrines to you, wherein we ourselves have no manner of concern. No, our own souls are at the stake, and shall either perish or be saved eternally, as we receive or reject these precious truths which we deliver unto you. And truly, it can never be expected that we will apply the truths of God with any warmth or liveliness unto others, unless we first make a warm application thereof to our own souls. And if we do not feed upon these doctrines, and practise these duties, which we deliver to and inculcate upon you, though we preach unto others, we ourselves are but castaways." -- Ebenezer Erskine, "The Assurance of Faith", pg. 8

    Deo Vindice

  4. #4
    R. Scott Clark's Avatar
    R. Scott Clark is offline. Puritanboard Senior
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,459
    Part 1 of a five-part response begins here. Each of the posts are linked in succession.

    I too want to encourage folk to read the book for themselves. This review would never be published in a real journal where the authors had to defend themselves from criticism.

    That said, I'm glad the review appeared if only to expose the silliness of the arguments it presents. Any rational person who actually reads the book and then the review, even if he doesn't agree with the thesis of the book, will see that the review is quite out of touch with reality and that's putting it mildly. It make's John Frame's review of Mike Horton's Christless Christianity seem sweetly reasonable.

    I don't think that it's too strong to say that If you haven't read the book you should not be commenting on it or disparaging it (see below). You can get it from The Bookstore at WSC for $14.29 + 5.00 shipping

    You may also want to listen to this interview with the editors (and who also contributed). They anticipated and responded to many of the allegations made in the review.

    http://netfilehost.com/wscal/OfficeH...15.09TLNOF.mp3


    The WLC teaches:

    Question 144: What are the duties required in the ninth commandment?

    Answer: The duties required in the ninth commandment are, the preserving and promoting of truth between man and man, and the good name of our neighbor, as well as our own; appearing and standing for the truth; and from the heart, sincerely, freely, clearly, and fully, speaking the truth, and only the truth, in matters of judgment and justice, and in all other things: Whatsoever; a charitable esteem of our neighbors; loving, desiring, and rejoicing in their good name; sorrowing for, and covering of their infirmities; freely acknowledging of their gifts and graces, defending their innocency; a ready receiving of a good report, and unwillingness to admit of an evil report, concerning them; discouraging talebearers, flatterers, and slanderers; love and care of our own good name, and defending it when need requires; keeping of lawful promises; studying and practicing of: Whatsoever things are true, honest, lovely, and of good report.

    Question 145: What are the sins forbidden in the ninth commandment?

    Answer: The sins forbidden in the ninth commandment are, all prejudicing the truth, and the good name of our neighbors, as well as our own, especially in public judicature; giving false evidence, suborning false witnesses, wittingly appearing and pleading for an evil cause, outfacing and overbearing the truth; passing unjust sentence, calling evil good, and good evil; rewarding the wicked according to the work of the righteous, and the righteous according to the work of the wicked; forgery, concealing the truth, undue silence in a just cause, and holding our peace when iniquity calls for either a reproof from ourselves, or complaint to others; speaking the truth unseasonably, or maliciously to a wrong end, or perverting it to a wrong meaning, or in doubtful and equivocal expressions, to the prejudice of truth or justice;speaking untruth, lying, slandering, backbiting, detracting, tale bearing, whispering, scoffing, reviling, rash, harsh, and partial censuring; misconstructing intentions, words, and actions; flattering, vainglorious boasting, thinking or speaking too highly or too meanly of ourselves or others; denying the gifts and graces of God; aggravating smaller faults;hiding, excusing, or extenuating of sins, when called to a free confession;unnecessary discovering of infirmities; raising false rumors, receiving and countenancing evil reports, and stopping our ears against just defense; evil suspicion; envying or grieving at the deserved credit of any, endeavoring or desiring to impair it, rejoicing in their disgrace and infamy; scornful contempt, fond admiration; breach of lawful promises; neglecting such things as are of good report, and practicing, or not avoiding ourselves, or not hindering: What we can in others, such things as procure an ill name.

  5. #5
    Backwoods Presbyterian's Avatar
    Backwoods Presbyterian is offline now. Puritanboard Doctor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17,052
    Blog Entries
    2
    Are you claiming I have not read the work Dr. Clark?

    You of course should always read a book before the review. That only makes sense. However I will maintain that your continued derogatory tone and calling the authors of the KERUX work "silly" and "irrational" further even claiming they breach the 9th Commandment is not only not very professional but not to be the way to win people to your side Dr. Clark.

    As you can see here I commend people to read the work first before reading the review.
    Rev. Benjamin P. Glaser, M. Div, ARP
    Pastor, Ellisville Presbyterian Church, ARP
    Ellisville, Mississippi

    ‎‎"Ministers of the Gospel, when dispensing the truths of God, must preach home to their own souls, as well as unto others. Sir's, we do not deliver truths or doctrines to you, wherein we ourselves have no manner of concern. No, our own souls are at the stake, and shall either perish or be saved eternally, as we receive or reject these precious truths which we deliver unto you. And truly, it can never be expected that we will apply the truths of God with any warmth or liveliness unto others, unless we first make a warm application thereof to our own souls. And if we do not feed upon these doctrines, and practise these duties, which we deliver to and inculcate upon you, though we preach unto others, we ourselves are but castaways." -- Ebenezer Erskine, "The Assurance of Faith", pg. 8

    Deo Vindice
    1 member(s) found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    toddpedlar's Avatar
    toddpedlar is offline. Iron Dramatist
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    8,031
    Quote Originally Posted by Backwoods Presbyterian View Post
    Are you claiming I have not read the work Dr. Clark?
    Ben... he never said anything about you reading the work. He was merely suggesting the obvious. When you posted the link to the review you simply implied that it should be read. He was stating as is obvious that you should read the book that is reviewed before reading a critical review such as this one. That's all. He said not a word about you, nor could one ever properly infer from what he posted that he thinks you didn't, or accuses you of such.

    You of course should always read a book before the review. That only makes sense. However I will maintain that your continued derogatory tone and calling the authors of the KERUX work "silly" and "irrational" further even claiming they breach the 9th Commandment is not only not very professional but not to be the way to win people to your side Dr. Clark.
    You also should read carefully what Dr. Clark said. He never called the authors silly, nor did he call them irrational. He leveled that complaint of silliness at the review, and said that a rational person reading both the book and the review will see its problems... and I frankly agree wholeheartedly with that critique. The review is unfortunate, and in many places not much more than a semi-public excoriation of individuals, and is riddled with misrepresentations and clear misunderstandings. It lacks a great deal in terms of professionalism and appropriate tone, if it is to be judged a professional "review". This is all Dr. Clark was saying. You have misrepresented what he has said.

    But.... let the people judge for themselves.

    This thread will not last very long.
    Todd K. Pedlar
    member, First Congregational Church, (CCCC) Cresco, IA
    My Blog: In Principio Deus
    24/7 Reformed Internet Radio: Sola5 Radio

    "As God did not at first choose you because you were high, He will not now forsake you because you are low."
    John Flavel in Keeping the Heart

    Click to get: Board Rules -- Signature Requirements -- Joining PB's Politics & Government Forum
    1 member(s) found this post helpful.

  7. #7
    Backwoods Presbyterian's Avatar
    Backwoods Presbyterian is offline now. Puritanboard Doctor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17,052
    Blog Entries
    2
    Nevermind.
    Rev. Benjamin P. Glaser, M. Div, ARP
    Pastor, Ellisville Presbyterian Church, ARP
    Ellisville, Mississippi

    ‎‎"Ministers of the Gospel, when dispensing the truths of God, must preach home to their own souls, as well as unto others. Sir's, we do not deliver truths or doctrines to you, wherein we ourselves have no manner of concern. No, our own souls are at the stake, and shall either perish or be saved eternally, as we receive or reject these precious truths which we deliver unto you. And truly, it can never be expected that we will apply the truths of God with any warmth or liveliness unto others, unless we first make a warm application thereof to our own souls. And if we do not feed upon these doctrines, and practise these duties, which we deliver to and inculcate upon you, though we preach unto others, we ourselves are but castaways." -- Ebenezer Erskine, "The Assurance of Faith", pg. 8

    Deo Vindice

  8. #8
    R. Scott Clark's Avatar
    R. Scott Clark is offline. Puritanboard Senior
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,459
    BP,

    I don't think anything I wrote implied anything about you.

    I'm just reminding everyone of their duty according to the law of God and giving them an opportunity to hear the whole story before they come to conclusions.

    I don't repent of anything I said in the responses. Regardless of the material issues, as a formal matter, this was perhaps the most inadequate, unprofessional review I've ever read. It was shockingly bad. As a matter of principle, when I mark essays, I give extra latitude when I mark essays with which I disagree personally. Nevertheless, were such a paper presented to me it would fail utterly.

    If they wanted to be persuasive, the should first have given a scrupulously fair account of what the book actually says. They should then account for the strengths of the book and then they should have offered measured, careful, thoughtful criticisms of the book and its positions.

    As it is they "open up" on the book at the very outset with outrageous distortions and misrepresentations and the review only goes downhill from there.

    I must say it is disappointing to see members of this board promoting this review and encouraging its dissemination.
    1 member(s) found this post helpful.

  9. #9
    NaphtaliPress's Avatar
    NaphtaliPress is offline. Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    17,998
    Blog Entries
    22
    Closed as we head into the Lord's day. The moderators will determine if it will be reopened later.
    Chris Coldwell, Lakewood Presbyterian Church (PCA), Dallas, Texas.
    • Naphtali Press: Presbyterian & Reformed Books
    • Westminster Letter Press
    The Confessional Presbyterian Journal
    The Blue Banner Archive
    Calvin in the Hands of the Philistines: Did Calvin Bowl on the Sabbath?
    The Regulative Principle: The Scriptures are the “only infallible rule of faith and practice, no rite or ceremony ought to have a place in the public worship of God, which is not warranted in Scripture, either by direct precept or example, or by good and sufficient inference” (Samuel Miller).
    Click to get: Board Rules -- Signature Requirements -- Joining PB's Politics & Government Forum

  10. #10
    NaphtaliPress's Avatar
    NaphtaliPress is offline. Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    17,998
    Blog Entries
    22
    Moved to Controversial Topics Forum and reopened. Please review this moderated forum's description and the sticky post.
    Chris Coldwell, Lakewood Presbyterian Church (PCA), Dallas, Texas.
    • Naphtali Press: Presbyterian & Reformed Books
    • Westminster Letter Press
    The Confessional Presbyterian Journal
    The Blue Banner Archive
    Calvin in the Hands of the Philistines: Did Calvin Bowl on the Sabbath?
    The Regulative Principle: The Scriptures are the “only infallible rule of faith and practice, no rite or ceremony ought to have a place in the public worship of God, which is not warranted in Scripture, either by direct precept or example, or by good and sufficient inference” (Samuel Miller).
    Click to get: Board Rules -- Signature Requirements -- Joining PB's Politics & Government Forum

  11. #11
    Jon Peters's Avatar
    Jon Peters is offline. Puritanboard Sophomore
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    716
    Dr. Clark,

    Is your review of the review going to stop at part 5? Having read the book and the review, I was looking forward to your continued review of the review.

    Jon
    Jon Peters
    Member, Reformation Fellowship (OPC) (Roseville, CA)
    Folsom, CA

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72